Parliament House, also known as Capital Hill or simply Parliament, serves as the gathering spot for the Parliament of Australia, as well as the headquarters of the Australian Government's legislative branch.

On May 9th, 1988, this iconic building was officially unveiled, marking a momentous occasion in Australia's political history. To honor this significant event, we have struck a stunning $5 coin that commemorates the opening of Parliament House.

The obverse of the coin features the effigy of Queen Elizabeth II by Raphael Maklouf, while the reverse features an image of Parliament House in Canberra, along with the words "PARLIAMENT HOUSE" and "1988". The coin was not released into circulation and was only available in uncirculated condition.


SKU 15323
Brand Royal Australian Mint

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Aussie Coins and Notes users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review